Monthly Archives: July 2016

Long-Lost Fort on Santa Elena Site is Discovered  

UPDATE: NOVEMBER 28, 2016
The Santa Elena History Center is commissioning a 3-D Scaled Model of Fort San Marcos to be prominently displayed in the the main exhibit.

To learn more about this project and make a gift of any amount toward the $15,000 goal, please click here.


July 28, 2016

Beaufort, SC – The Santa Elena Foundation is excited to announce that Dr. Chester DePratter and Dr. Victor Thompson located the long-lost Fort San Marcos, which was built on the Santa Elena site in 1577.

The Santa Elena Foundation supported the effort, which took multiple years and non-invasive methods to make the discovery. In the attached press release from the South Carolina Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology (SCIAA), the University of Georgia, and the Parris Island Marine Recruit Depot, further details of the finding are explained.

“The volunteers, Board members and staff – this entire community who has helped bring this story to life – could not be more excited for Prof. DePratter and Dr. Thompson,” says Dr. Andy Beall, Chariman and CEO. “Days like today are the reason we established the Foundation with a vision to uncover this significant history.”

With plans underway for Phase Two of the Main Exhibit.  This emerging information can be incorporated to share more information. The Re-Elect Pedro Menendez Campaign is leading the marketing and fundraising efforts for this expansion of the story.

To learn more about the Santa Elena History Center, visit https://santa-elena.org.

Click here to read the article in Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports.

The Santa Elena Foundation is a nonprofit organization based in Beaufort County, South Carolina.  The mission of the foundation is to expand the story of European colonization of North America through discovery, preservation and promotion of Santa Elena, a 16th Century Spanish settlement and colonial capital in the present-day United States.

Three Beaufort History Museums Forge Visitation Partnership

Beaufort History Museum logoHistoric Beaufort Foundation logoSanta Elena History Center logo small square
Contact:
Carla Marsh
561-376-7651
cmarshpr@earthlink.net

July 6, 2016

For Immediate Release

 

Three Beaufort History Museums Forge Visitation Partnership
Sticker Identification System Assures Discount

            Beaufort, SC – July 6, 2016 – Three museums located in Beaufort’s downtown historic district will now offer visitors the opportunity to receive a discount on tickets.  The Beaufort History Museum, Historic Beaufort Foundation and Santa Elena History Center have forged a partnership and are launching an innovative plan to encourage museum visitation.    Here is how it works:

  • Purchase a full price ticket at any participating museum and receive a sticker from that museum with your ticket.
  • The museum sticker entitles the wearer to $1.00 off full price admission at the other two museums.

The museums are all within easy walking distance of each other and provide a scenic route through Beaufort’s downtown area.  Each has a different mission, distinctive presentation and unique perspective so that a visit to all of the venues enhances learning and deepens the cultural experience:

The Beaufort History Museum: 713 Craven Street (Arsenal) c.1798 – Housed in the historic 1798 Arsenal, the Museum tells the story of the 500-year history in the Beaufort area through artifacts, photos and tours given by knowledgeable docents.
843-379-3079   www.beauforthistorymuseum.com

Historic Beaufort Foundation: 801 Bay Street (Verdier House) c. 1804 – The only planter’s house in Beaufort open to the public. The mission of Historic Beaufort Foundation is to support the preservation, protection and presentation of sites and artifacts of historic, architectural and cultural interest throughout Beaufort County.      843-379-3331   www.historicbeaufort.org

Santa Elena History Center: 1501 Bay Street (Old Courthouse)– More than 40 years before the English settled at Jamestown, the Spanish established a town in 1566 on the shores of Port Royal Sound in present-day Beaufort County. Come to this newly opened interpretive center to learn the history of Santa Elena.  (843) 379-1550   www.Santa-Elena.org

For more information on the Museum Pass Program please call or visit any of the participating organizations or visit their website.